Showroom for a stove maker

Fireplace

Collalbo, Renon
2021 - 2022

In 1962, the father of our client Andreas founded the stove workshop Pöhl. Today, Andreas, a master stove-builder himself, is the owner of the company. The property, consisting of production bay, administration and showroom, is located in the Handwerkerzone (the Crafts and Trades Quarter) of Collalbo on Renon mountain, a municipality strongly anchored in skilled trades. 

↓ Client

Andreas Pöhl

↓ Architecture, Site management

Messner Architects

↓ Implementation

Elektro Messner
Zumtobel
Spögler Bodenbeläge
Tischlerei Pattis
Pöhl
südtirol.stein
Battisti Roland
Felix Quinz
Arte Decor Prast
Gypsum - tiles
Sternbach Interior Stories - chairs and armchairs by Prostoria, table legs by Arper, lamps by Northern

↓ Photography

Karina Castro

The driving force for redesign was a vision of a clearly laid-out and well-arranged showroom. In search of a customized stove, clients entering the premises embark on an expedition, stepping into the world of wood stoves, a tradition cultivated for centuries in the Alps.

An open hearth – gathering site to mankind since the beginning of time - stands at the center of the showroom, becoming its essential element. Four charred wooden stage walls laid-out orthogonally around the fireplace form the backdrop for the displays of stoves and tiles. In their midst, sits complacently heavy the hearth’s monolith rock – whispering tales of times long past – almost unprocessed, primal and raw. Rising above, the exhaust hood waits patiently its turn only to surrender to the chimney.

An ashen-colored carpeting, oiled MDF furniture, Heraklith ceiling and wall panels, a coarse green plaster and an interior roof structure painted in black elicit forever archaic motifs associated with fire. Suspended below the vaulted roof, two metal rings – painted black – illuminate the showroom, eliciting the cozy atmosphere of an open fireplace. The brass used for the logo, the exhaustion hood and the bar nook creates subtly glistening highlights.

Facing the street, the showroom consists of an area in the front with an elevated ceiling giving way to a vaulted roof moving to an area in the back with a suspended ceiling.

The atmosphere inhabiting the newly designed space answers our client’s call for creating a space for both display and welcoming reception that reflects the company’s philosophy driven by competence, reliability and quality, all conjoined by sensibility.

Showroom für einen Ofenbauer

Fireplace

Klobenstein am Ritten
2021 - 2022

Die Ofenmanufaktur Pöhl wurde im Jahr 1962 vom Vater des Ofenbaumeisters Andreas, dem heutigen Firmeninhaber, gegründet. Das Gebäude mit Produktionshalle, Verwaltung und Ausstellung befindet sich in der Handwerkerzone von Klobenstein am Rittner Hochplateau - einer Gemeinde, die über ein stark strukturiertes Handwerk verfügt.

↓ Bauherrschaft

Andreas Pöhl

↓ Planung & Bauleitung

Messner Architects

↓ Ausführung

Elektro Messner
Zumtobel
Spögler Bodenbeläge
Tischlerei Pattis
Pöhl
südtirol.stein
Battisti Roland
Felix Quinz
Arte Decor Prast
Gypsum - tiles
Sternbach Interior Stories - Stühle und Sessel von Prostoria, Tischbeine von Arper, Lampen von Northern

↓ Fotos

Karina Castro

Ausgangspunkt für die Neugestaltung war der Wunsch den bestehenden Ausstellungsraum klar und übersichtlich zu gestalten. Auf der Suche nach seinem maßgeschneiderten Ofen begibt sich der Kunde auf eine Entdeckungsreise in die Welt der holzbefeuerten Öfen, eine seit Jahrhunderten gepflegte Tradition im Alpenraum.

Eine offene Feuerstelle - seit jeher Ort des Zusammenkommens - wird zum zentralen Element. Vier freistehende, verkohlte, um das Feuer angeordnete Wandscheiben, dienen der Präsentation von Öfen und Kacheln. Mit seinen Bohrrippen und geringstem Bearbeitungsgrad liegt der gewichtige Monolith unterhalb der Rauchabzugshaube. Den Hintergrund bildet ein gekachelter Speicherofen, der als Trennelement zwischen dem Ausstellungsbereich und der ruhigeren Zone mit Desk, Besprechungstisch und Barnische fungiert.

Der aschgraue Teppichboden, das geölte MDF für die Möbel, die Decken- und Wandverkleidungen in Heraklith, der grobe Putz in Grün und die schwarze Dachuntersicht stellen Bezüge zu archaischen Motiven aus der Welt des Feuers her. Zwei schwebende schwarz lackierte Metallringe unterhalb des gewölbten Daches dienen der Ausleuchtung des Ausstellungsraumes. Die Verwendung von Messing beim Logo, bei der Rauchabzugshaube und in der Barnische schafft Akzente.

Der Straße zugewandt, gliedert sich der Ausstellungsraum in einen hohen Bereich, der von einer gewölbten Dachkonstruktion überdeckt wird, und einen weiter hinten liegenden Bereich mit einer abgehängten Decke.

Der Wunsch des Bauherrn einen einladenden Ort der Präsentation zu schaffen, bestimmt die Atmosphäre in den neugestalteten Räumen und bringt die Firmenphilosophie mit den Schlagworten Kompetenz, Zuverlässigkeit und Qualität zum Ausdruck - ohne die Emotion zu vergessen.