Playground Design

Funimal Forest

Ritten / Renon
2017 – 2018
↓ Client

Tourist Office Renon

↓ Architecture, Site management

Messner Architects

↓ Structural Engineering

Ing. Rodolfo Senoner

↓ Contractors

Holzbau Lintner
Meistermaler
Larcher Bau
Othnik
freistil
Inktank

↓ Photography

Oliver Jaist

↓ Press

archilovers.com 06/11/2018
mooool.com 12/20/2018
thetreemag.com 10/24/2019
archello.com 11/12/2019
whitemad.pl 11/13/2019

The Funimal Forest hiking trail leads through forests and meadows passing by eight unique stations, each of them introducing a wild animal (fox, hedgehog, butterfly, frog, woodpecker, squirrel, tawny owl, hare) living in the middle-european forests.

Each of these colored figures comes up with an activity associated to its behavior and character, like swinging with Bella, the butterfly, rocking with Frankie, the frog or climbing with Walter, the woodpecker.

The sculptures are made of hand-painted wooden panels. Their specific optical and tactile attraction for young and old alike is given through their graphic design, the textual introduction of each character and the games manufactured from steel, wood and brass.

The thoughtful use of materials and crafting skills underlines the importance of the surrounding landscape as a delicate context enhancing a conscious and responsible attitude towards nature.

Playground Design

Funimal Forest

Ritten
2017 – 2018
↓ Bauherrschaft

Tourismusverein Ritten

↓ Planung & Bauleitung

Messner Architects

↓ Statik

Ing. Rodolfo Senoner

↓ Ausführung

Holzbau Lintner
Meistermaler
Larcher Bau
Othnik
freistil Inktank

↓ Fotos

Oliver Jaist

↓ Press

archilovers.com 06/11/2018
mooool.com 12/20/2018
thetreemag.com 10/24/2019
archello.com 11/12/2019
whitemad.pl 11/13/2019

Entlang des durch Wald und Wiesen führenden Wald-Wild-Wunder-Weges wird an acht Stationen jeweils ein Wildtier (Fuchs, Igel, Schmetterling, Frosch, Specht, Eichhörnchen, Kauz, Hase) vorgestellt, das in Mitteleuropa beheimatet ist.

Die Tierfiguren aus bemaltem Holz stehen in Kombination mit einer Aktivität, die Assoziationen zum Wesen und Verhalten des jeweiligen Tieres schafft, wie Schaukeln bei Bella, dem Schmetterling, Wippen bei Frankie, dem Frosch, oder Klettern bei Walter, dem Specht.

Die Tierskulpturen bestehen aus von Hand kolorierten Massivholzelementen. Die grafische Gestaltung, die textliche Vorstellung der jeweiligen Protagonisten und die Spielgeräte aus Stahl, Holz und Messing schaffen einen besonderen optischen und inhaltlichen Anreiz für Kinder und Erwachsene.

Der überlegte und bewusste Einsatz von Materialien und handwerklicher Leistung in diesem empfindlichen Kontext unterstreicht den Bezug zur Landschaft und stärkt das Bewusstsein für einen verantwortungsvollen Umgang mit unserer Natur.